Nick and Charlie

Blurb: Everyone knows that Nick and Charlie are the perfect couple – that they’re inseparable. But now Nick is leaving for university, and Charlie will be left behind at Sixth Form. As the time to say goodbye gets inevitably closer, both Nick and Charlie question whether their love is strong enough to survive being apart. Or are they delaying the inevitable? Because everyone knows that first loves rarely last forever…

Author: Alice Oseman
Genre: Romance
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ /5
Published: 2015

“It’s like, if you had to provide evidence for soul mates, everyone would pick you two.”

I have absolutely loved the Heartstopper Series, so this book was just a perfect treat while I wait for Heartstopper vol 5 to be released. This series makes me feel young again! It reminds me so much of what it was like to be a teenager, so much anxiety, everything feeling so new and scary!

This book was super short but super sweet. I got through it in about an hour. It was the first novel I have read by Alice Oseman but I have been very interested in her story ‘Solitaire’ for a while and this may just push me to get it.

The book was easy to read, it had cute illustrations sporadically throughout, but most importantly, it was nice seeing Nick and Charlie in a new medium. I really enjoyed how much more detail we got, with how both the characters were feeling and their motivations. Alice was able to put a lot more backstory and attention into their conversations, where this may be overlooked in the graphic novels (which is fine, just a nice change).

Overall, this book was so sweet, there were some tense moments! Some teenage drama! But it was nice to get back into the Nick and Charlie world. It has made me super excited for vol 5 of Hearstopper.

I have since learnt that there is another spin off book ‘This Winter’ which is from several years ago but is about Nick and Charlie and I neeed to read it!

Leave a comment